‘Everything Everywhere’ Dominates Spirit Awards With 7 Prizes

The 2023 Independent Spirit Awards were dominated by the Daniels’ “Everything Everywhere All at Once,” which led all films this year with eight nominations and a won a total of seven prizes, including best feature.

Close behind were Todd Field’s “Tár” with seven nominations (it won for best cinematography) and Charlotte Wells’ “Aftersun” with five (it won for best first feature).

All three movies picked up Oscar nominations this year, with “Everything Everywhere” also leading the Academy Awards pack with a total of 11 nominations.

Check out the full list of winners for the 2023 Independent Spirit Awards below.


Best Feature
“Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)
“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER
“Our Father, the Devil” (Resolve Media)
“Tár” (Focus Features)
“Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)

Best Director
Todd Field – “Tár” (Focus Features)
Kogonada – “After Yang” (A24)
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER
Sarah Polley – “Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)
Halina Reijn – “Bodies Bodies Bodies” (A24)

Best Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett – “Tár” (Focus Features)
Dale Dickey – “A Love Song” (Bleecker Street)
Mia Goth – “Pearl” (A24)
Regina Hall – “Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul.” (Focus Features)
Paul Mescal – “Aftersun” (A24)
Aubrey Plaza – “Emily the Criminal” (Roadside Attractions)
Jeremy Pope – “The Inspection” (A24)
Taylor Russell – “Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)
Andrea Riseborough – “To Leslie” (Momentum Pictures)
Michelle Yeoh – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER

Best Supporting Performance

Jamie Lee Curtis – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24)
Brian Tyree Henry – “Causeway” (A24/Apple Original Films)
Nina Hoss – “Tár” (Focus Features)
Brian D’Arcy James – “The Cathedral” (Mubi)
Ke Huy Quan – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER
Trevante Rhodes – “Bruiser” (Onyx Collective)
Theo Rossi – “Emily the Criminal” (Roadside Attractions)
Mark Rylance – “Bones and All” (MGM/United Artists Releasing)
Jonathan Tucker – “Palm Trees and Power Lines” (Momentum Pictures)
Gabrielle Union – “The Inspection” (A24)

Best Breakthrough Performance
Frankie Corio – “Aftersun” (A24)
Garcija Filipovic – “Murina” (Kino Lorber)
Stephanie Hsu – “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) WINNER
Lily McInerny – “Palm Trees and Power Lines” (Momentum Pictures)
Daniel Zolghadri – “Funny Pages” (A24)

Best Screenplay
“After Yang” (A24) – Kogonada
“Catherine Called Birdy” (Amazon Studios) – Lena Dunham
“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert WINNER
“Tár” (Focus Features) – Todd Field
“Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing) – Sarah Polley

Best First Screenplay
“Bodies Bodies Bodies” (A24) – Sarah DeLappe, Kristen Roupenian
“Emergency” (Amazon Studios) – K.D. Dávila
“Emily the Criminal” (Roadside Attractions) – John Patton Ford WINNER
“Fire Island” (Searchlight Pictures) – Joel Kim Booster
“Palm Trees and Power Lines” (Momentum Pictures) – Jamie Dack, Audrey Findlay

Best First Feature
“Aftersun” (A24) WINNER
“Emily the Criminal” (Roadside Attractions)
“The Inspection” (A24)
“Murina” (Kino Lorber)
“Palm Trees and Power Lines” (Momentum Pictures)

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $1,000,000)
“The African Desperate” (Mubi)
“A Love Song” (Bleecker Street)
“The Cathedral” (Mubi) WINNER
“Holy Emy” (Utopie Films)
“Something in the Dirt” (XYZ Films)

Best Cinematography
“Aftersun” (A24) – Gregory Oke
“Murina” (Kino Lorber) – Hélène Louvart
“Neptune Frost” (Kino Lorber) – Anisia Uzeyman
“Pearl” (A24) – Eliot Rockett
“Tár” (Focus Features) – Florian Hoffmeister WINNER

Best Documentary
“A House Made of Splinters” (Madman Entertainment)
“All that Breathes” (HBO)
“All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” (Neon) WINNER
“Midwives” (POV)
“Riotsville, U.S.A.” (IFC Films)

Best Editing
“Aftersun” (A24) – Blair McClendon
“The Cathedral” (Mubi) – Ricky D’Ambrose
“Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24) – Paul Rogers WINNER
“Marcel the Shell with Shoes On” (A24) – Dean Fleischer Camp, Nick Paley
“Tár” (Focus Features) – Monika Willi

Robert Altman Award (Given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast)

“Women Talking” (MGM/United Artists Releasing) – Sarah Polley (director), John Buchan, Jason Knight (casting directors), Shayla Brown, Jessie Buckley, Claire Foy, Kira Guloien, Kate Hallett, Judith Ivey, Rooney Mara, Sheila McCarthy, Frances McDormand, Michelle McLeod, Liv McNeil, Ben Whishaw, August Winter (ensemble cast)

Best International Film
“Corsage” (Austria/Luxembourg/France/Belgium/Italy/England)
“Joyland” (Pakistan/USA) WINNER
“Leonor Will Never Die” (Philippines)
“Return to Seoul” (South Korea/France/Belgium/Romania)
“Saint Omer” (France)

Producers Award
Liz Cardenas
Tory Lenosky WINNER
David Grove Churchill Viste

Someone to Watch Award
Adamma Ebo – “Honk for Jesus. Save Your Soul”
Nikyatu Jusu – “Nanny” WINNER
Araceli Lemos – “Holy Emy”

The Truer Than Fiction Award
Isabel Castro – “Mija”
Reid Davenport – “I Didn’t See You There” WINNER
Rebeca Huntt – “Beba”


Best New Scripted Series
“The Bear “ (FX) WINNER
“Pachinko “ (Apple TV+)
“The Porter” (CBC)
“Severance” (Apple TV+)
“Station Eleven” (HBO Max)

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series
Aml Ameen , “The Porter” 
Mohammed Amer, “Mo” 
Quinta Brunson, “Abbott Elementary” WINNER
Bridget Everett, “Somebody Somewhere” 
KaMillion, “Rap Sh!t” 
Melanie Lynskey, “Yellowjackets” 
Himesh Patel, “Station Eleven” 
Sue Ann Pien, “As We See It” 
Adam Scott, “Severance” 
Ben Whishaw, “This is Going to Hurt”

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series
Danielle Deadwyler, “Station Eleven”   
Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear”  WINNER
Jeff Hiller, “Somebody Somewhere” 
Gbemisola Ikumelo,  “A League of Their Own” 
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary” 
Ebon Moss-Bachrach, “The Bear” 
Frankie Quiñones, “This Fool” 
Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary” 
Molly Shannon,  “I Love That For You” 
Tramell Tillman, “Severance”

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series
“Children of the Underground” 
“Mind Over Murder” 
“Pepsi, Where’s My Jet?” 
“The Rehearsal” WINNER
“We Need to Talk About Cosby”